Shear Test

 

To measure shear strength there are several shear test methods in existence for composite materials. They can be grouped by their way of force application (compressive force via rim of specimen, friction force via clamping system) or their required specimen geometry (with or without notch, miniaturised). Furthermore the tensile test can be modified to a shear test using fibre orientation of +/-45° and also the flexural test can be used to determin shear properties. All of the established methods have in common that testing provides reliable results for small shear deformations (<5%) i.e. small shear forces only.

Dependable characterisation of high performance fibre reinforced composite materials gains increasing importance. We specialized in this field and additionally offer the innovative shear frame test described in DIN SPEC 4885. It was developed in collaboration with German Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (BAM). This method is tolerant to high deformation and thus compatible to measure high shear strength composite laminates.

Shear Frame Test of flat specimens using DIN SPEC 4885:2014-01

  • Reference testing procedure for determination of shear properties of fiber reinforced composite materials
  • Short, long and continuous fiber reinforced composites
  • Determination of shear modulus and shear strength even for shear deformation of more than 5%
  • Fiber orientations: 0°, 90°, 0°/90°
  • Geometry of specimen: 165mm x 165mm x 2…4mm
  • Doublers: not necessary
  • Strain gauges: 2 pc per specimen in 45°-orientation

The shear test using DIN SPEC 4885 is a picture-frame shear test. Laminates with thermosetting or thermoplastic matrices reinforced with fibres in 0°- or 0°/90°- direction can be tested. The square shaped specimen is built symmetrically and balanced around the midplane. Typically the thickness of the specimen is 2 … 4mm.

It requires expensive test fixtures and significant amounts of test material, as opposed to the established tests. But it provides great advantages:

  • Shear strenght can be monitored in the linear as well as non-linear range of load-deformation-behaviour for shear deformations (slidings) larger than 5%. For the first time, maximum shear strenght even in this range can be determined.
  • The all-side clampings prevent free rims and thus prevent load shifting effects.
  • The results thereby show small variance usually less than 3%, which makes the method suitable for parameter studies or quality check.
  • The single layers of the specimen exclusively see pure shear stress. It is distributed sufficiently homogenous over the specimen. The maximum shear stress is located in the center which typically is the location of failure.

For the shear test using DIN SPEC 4885 we developed the picture-frame testing system GZ-S80. Hydraulic clampings provide quick and easy change of specimen. The testing routine takes only few minutes, so it can be integrated into industrial environments for shear tests series.

Iosipescu Shear Test using ASTM D 5379-12

  • Standard testing method for determination of shear properties of fiber reinforced composite materials
  • Laminates made of a thermosetting or thermoplastic matrix and unidirectional fibers
  • Testing of multidirectionally oriented fibers possible
  • Fiber orientations: 0°, 90°, 0°/90°
  • Geometry of specimen: 76mm x 20mm x 2…10mm
  • Doublers: not necessary
  • Strain gauges: 2 or 4 pc per specimen in +/-45°-orientation

Following ASTM D 5379 the Iosipescu shear test induces a state of pure shear at the specimen mid-section by applying two counteracting moments. The two opposing sections of the apparatus can be moved in opposite directions. A composite specimen is gripped at the rim of each side and the force is induced via four points. Ninety-degree notches are machined in the specimen and determin the area of failure. The central region is assumed to be in pure shear.For determining shear strength using Iosipescu, there are some uncertainties in the test results:

  • The method is limited to small deformations only. Large deformations lead to load shift for horizontal fibre orientation.
  • Shear stress decreases at the central region of the specimen (by 20% for longitudinal and by 10% for transversal orientation). There is no homogenious stress distribution in the cross section.
  • The machining of the notch produces varying stress situations in the notch area which makes the specimen fail at different loads.
  • The test applies concentrated forces to the specimen which can cause local crushing on the edges of the specimen.

On the other hand, the Iosipescu method provides an inexpensive and flexible way of testing shear strength. Varying laminate orientations can be tested easily using only one testing method.

V-Notched Rail Shear using ASTM D 7078-12

  • Standard testing method for determination of shear properties of fiber reinforced composite materials
  • Laminates made of a thermosetting or thermoplastic matrix and unidirectional fibers
  • Testing of multidirectionally oriented fibers possible
  • Fiber orientations: 0°, 90°, 0°/90°
  • Geometry of specimen: 76mm x 56mm x 2…10mm
  • Doublers: not necessary
  • Strain gauges: 2 or 4 pc per specimen in +/-45°-orientation

In the Rail Shear test following ASTM D 7078 and ASTM D 4255, a composite specimen is gripped along each side of a long narrow central region by clampings and the two opposing sections of the apparatus are loaded, in opposite directions. The central region of the specimen is assumed to be in pure shear.Among the benefits, the rail shear test is limited by the following:

  • The method is limited to small deformations only. Large deformations lead to load shift for horizontal fibre orientation.
  • There is no homogenious but parabolic stress distribution in the cross section.
  • Specimen of multiaxial or parallel to load direction oriented fibres include fibres not connected to the clampings, which leads to unwanted effects.
  • ASTM D 7078 uses a notched specimen. The stress distribution is strongly influenced by the manufacturing of the specimen.
  • For using ASTM D 4255, several holes must be drilled into the specimen in the clamping region, which leads to stress concentration.

On the other hand, the rail shear test method is a system of low complexity which uses simple and flat specimen.

Shear Frame Test of flat specimen using DIN EN ISO 14129:1998-02

  • Standard testing method for determination of shear properties of fiber reinforced composite materials
  • Laminates made of a thermosetting or thermoplastic matrix and unidirectional fibers
  • Fiber orientation: +/-45°
  • Geometry of specimen: 250mm x 25mm x 2mm
  • Doublers: 50mm x 25mm x 2mm (with +/-45°-orientation)
  • Strain gauges: 2 pc per specimen in 0°/90°-orientation

The shear test by DIN EN ISO 14129 or ASTM D 3518 measures characteristic shear values on flat samples with a ±45° fibre orientation. The specimen’s laminate structure is symmetrical and balanced. The testing routine is a static tensile test.The preface of the norm already quotes limits of this method:

  • The method is limited to small deformations only (<5%). Large deformations lead to load shift for horizontal fibre orientation.
  • The resulting stress condition in the specimen is multiaxial. The single layer see normal stresses as well as shear stresses. The stresses vertical to fibre orientation additionally cause break between fibre loads which influence the characteristic shear values. Owing to the principle, determining shear strength can’t be done error free.
  • The free rims of the specimen cause load shifting effects.
  • The load distribution must be assumed to be inhomogenious over the entire specimen width.
On the other hand, the testing routine is impressivly simple. It basically modifies the established tensile test using a smart fibre orientation to create shear stress.

Short Beam Shear Test using DIN EN 2563 and 2377, DIN EN ISO 14130 and ASTM D 2344

  • Standard testing method for determination of shear properties of fiber reinforced composite materials
  • Laminates made of a thermosetting or thermoplastic matrix and unidirectional fibers
  • Geometry of specimen: 20mm x 10mm x 2mm
  • Radius pressure pin: 5mm
  • Radius support: 2mm
  • Temperature range: 20…280°C

The Short Beam Shear test (SBS) described in DIN EN 2563 /2377, DIN EN ISO 14130 and ASTM D 2344 for the determination of apparent interlaminar shear strength is a modified 3-Point flexural test. The span length of the fixture is small as compared to the specimen’s thickness which induces shear stress to the specimen. The geometry of the specimen is a short beam of thermoplastics or thermosettings continuously reinforced by fibres in 0° or 0°/90°-direction. The norm defines apparent interlaminar shear strength as “maximum shear stress calculated at half thickness of specimen at the moment of first failure.”[1]The norm also quotes limits of this method:

  • Depending on the material configuration, “the results can be influenced by interfering strain/flexural stresses or flexural/torsion moments etc.” [2]
  • The specimen may possibly fail due to flexural or plastic deformation, which makes it impossible to determin the real shear stress at the moment of failure.
  • The method may not be used to determin characteristic values for construction purposes. It may only be used for material selection or quality check.
  • The results are no quantitative (absolute) values. They may only be used for comparison within one test series.
On the other hand, the SBS testing method works with only very small and geometrically simple specimen. Using a small amount of material, qualitative information about the resin-fibre relation can be obtained.

[1]: DIN EN 2563, “Aerospace series, Carbon fibre reinforced plastics, Unidirectional laminates, Determination of the apparent interlaminar shear strength”, CEN, 1996
[2]: DIN ISO 14130, “Fibre reinforced plastic composites, Determination of apparent interlaminar shear strength using short-beam method”, CEN, 1997

Dynamic testing of materials

Measuring the fatigue behaviour of fibre reinforced plastics (FRP) is the key to predict service lifetime of parts and structures, whereat the anisotropic FRP show a very different behaviour from isotropic materials like metals. For FRP, fatigue is essentially created by initiation, growth and propagation of a multitude of cracks. The evolution of damage is influenced not only by the materials of matrix and fibres but also by the composition of the laminate. Although it is highly specific to the individual material, it usually follows the stages below:

  • Initiation of lateral cracks in laminate layers out of loading direction
  • Initiation of longitudinal cracks alongside load-bearing fibres
  • Delaminationen alongside rim of specimen
  • Internal delaminationen due to lateral and longitudinal cracks
  • Fracture of load-bearing fibres due to buckling
  • Delamination due to shear stress
  • Complete failure of the part/ specimen

We use a traction device for alternation loading (R=-1), tensile pulsation loading (R=0) or compression pulsation loading (R=-∞). The fibre direction configuration specifies the type of stress: longitudinal or lateral for tension and compression, +/-45° for shear tests. In order to prevent early fibre buckling, we use the Anti-Buckling Test Fixture GZ-BS32.

For characterizing the dynamical flexural material properties we use our 3-/4-PointFlexural test fixture GZ B-50. Here, too, tensile and compression properties can be investigated using fibre orientation.

We monitor the fatigue behaviour of the material of your choice, e.g. thermoplastics or thermosets, reinforced with carbon or glass long or continuous fibres, performing endurance stress/ operational reliability tests and generating “Wöhler” curves of your specific material configuration.

Adhesion Test for Release Agents

The plastics industry relies on release agents to ensure smooth production processes. Release agents form the critical barrier between mold wall and plastic melt in the manufacture of molded articles. To ensure flawless demoulding the release agent must be applied carefully all over the inner surface of the mold walls, which is unfeasible for automatisation. For this purpose integrated release agent polymer systems are developed. To quantify their residual adhesion force we developed the testing system GZ RA-20.

The tested mixture is applied between two heated parallel surfaces of tool steel. Temperature and duration are set according to process configuration or can be determined using GZ RA-20, respectively. Subsequently one surface will be lifted by a set speed monitoring the residual adhesion force induced by the polymer mixture.

Schubversuch

 

Zur Ermittlung der Schubfestigkeit sind verschiedene Verfahren etabliert. Diese unterscheiden sich in der Art der Krafteinleitung (als Druckkraft über die Probekörperkante oder als Reibungskraft über die Klemmbackensysteme) bzw. in der Geometrie der Probekörper (ungekerbt, gekerbt, miniaturisiert). Außerdem lassen sich der etablierte Zugversuch durch Faserorientierung in +/-45°-Richtung zum Schubversuch umfunktionieren sowie aus der Biegeprüfung Aussagen über die Schubfestigkeit ermitteln. Allen etablierten Verfahren ist gemein, dass sich aus ihnen nur für geringe Schubdeformationen (<5%) und somit geringe Scherkräften belastbare Ergebnisse gewinnen lassen.

Die zuverlässige Charakterisierung von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundwerkstoffen gewinnt jedoch immer mehr an Bedeutung. Wir haben uns auf diesem Gebiet spezialisiert und bieten Ihnen neben den etablierten Prüfverfahren mit der Schubprüfung nach DIN SPEC 4885 eine von uns mit der BAM Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung maßgeblich entwickelte innovative Methode an. Mit dieser lassen sich wesentlich höhere Gleitungen und damit höhere Festigkeiten prüfen als bisher.

Schubprüfung an Flachprobekörpern nach DIN SPEC 4885:2014-01

  • Referenz-Prüfverfahren zur Bestimmung der Schubeigenschaften von FVK
  • Endlos-, kurz- und langfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe
  • Ermittlung des Schubmoduls und der Schubfestigkeit auch für Schubverformungen von 5% und mehr
  • Faserorientierung: 0° bzw. 90° bzw. 0°/90°
  • Probekörpergeometrie: 165mm x 165mm x 2…4mm
  • Aufdoppler: nicht notwendig
  • Dehnungsmessstreifen: 2 Stück je Probekörper in 45°-Orientierung
  • zugelassen im DNV GL Standard „Rotor Blades for Wind Turbines“ (DNVGL-ST-0376) für die Auslegung von Rotorblättern von Windenergieanlagen

Der Schubversuch nach DIN SPEC 4885 wird mittels Schubrahmen durchgeführt. Das Verfahren ist anwendbar auf Laminate, die aus einer thermoplastischen oder duroplastischen Matrix bestehen und Faserorientierungen in 0°- bzw. 0°/90°-Richtung aufweisen. Die Probekörper mit quadratischer Grundform sind symmetrisch und ausgeglichen um die Mittelebene aufgebaut. Typische Prokörperdicken liegen im Bereich zwischen 2 … 4 mm.Der Materialaufwand und die Anforderungen an die Testapparatur sind hier höher als bei den etablierten Tests nach DIN und ASTM. Demgegenüber stehen jedoch deutliche Vorteile dieser Prüfmethode:

  • Die Bestimmung der Schubeigenschaften kann sowohl im linearen als auch im nicht-linearen Last-Verformungs-Bereich bei Schubdehnungen (Gleitungen) über 5% erfolgen. Damit ist erstmals auch die Ermittlung der maximalen Schubfestigkeit in diesem Bereich möglich.
  • Aufgrund der allseitigen Einspannung des Probekörpers existieren keine freien Ränder, so dass keine Lastumlagerungseffekte auftreten können.
  • Die Ergebnisse des Verfahrens zeigen dadurch eine sehr geringe Streuung, typischerweise im Bereich <3%. Damit ist das Verfahren beispielsweise für Parameterstudien oder auch für die Qualitätskontrolle geeignet.
  • In der Einzelschicht des Probekörpers liegen ausschließlich reine Schubspannungen vor. Die Beanspruchung ist relativ homogen über den Probekörper verteilt. Das Schubspannungsmaximum liegt im Probekörperzentrum, so dass dort in der Regel das Versagen der Probe zu beobachten ist.

Für den Schubversuch nach DIN SPEC 4885 haben wir das Schubprüfsystem GZ-S80 entwickelt. Mit der hydraulischen Einspannung des Probekörpers ist ein Probenwechsel sehr einfach und schnell realisierbar. Die Versuchsdurchführung dauert dadurch nur wenige Minuten, was das Verfahren auch im industriellen Umfeld für Serienprüfungen einsetzbar macht.

Im neu überarbeiteten DNV GL Standard „Rotor Blades for Wind Turbines“ (DNVGL-ST-0376) ist das Schubprüfverfahren mittels Schubrahmen nach DIN SPEC 4885 als Prüfverfahren zugelassen.

Schubprüfung an gekerbten Flachprobekörpern mittels Iosipescu-Schubvorrichtung nach ASTM D 5379-12

  • Standard-Prüfverfahren zur Bestimmung der Schubeigenschaften von FVK
  • Für Laminate aus thermo- oder duroplastischen Matrixsystemen mit UD-Gelege bzw. -Gewebe
  • Prüfung multidirektionaler Faserorientierungen möglich
  • Faserorientierung: 0° bzw. 90° bzw. 0°/90°
  • Probekörpergeometrie: 76mm x 20mm x 2…10mm
  • Aufdoppler: nicht notwendig
  • Dehnungsmessstreifen: 2 bzw. 4 Stück je Probekörper in +/-45°-Richtung

Das Prinzip des Iosipescu-Versuchs nach ASTM D 5379 besteht in einer unsymmetrisch belasteten Vierpunktbiegeprobe. Die Probe wird von einer Vorrichtung gehalten, die aus zwei relativ zueinander beweglichen Profilen besteht. Die Lasten werden über vier Bereiche in die Probe eingeleitet. Eine Kerbung der Probe legt den Ort des Versagens fest. Die Werkstoffbelastung im Probekörper ist eine Querkraft- Schubspannung.Das Verfahren nach Iosipescu weist aus Sicht der Werkstoffcharakterisierung allerdings einige Unzulänglichkeiten bei der Bestimmung der Schubeigenschaften auf:

  • Das Verfahren ist für kleine Material-Verformungen bestimmt. Große Verformungen führen zu Lastumlagerungen in Faserrichtung bei horizontal orientierten Fasern.
  • Die Schubspannungen in der Probenmitte weichen deutlich von der mittleren Schubspannung ab (bei längsorientierten Fasern ca. 20%, bei senkrechter Orientierung ca. 10% geringere Schubspannungen). Es liegt daher keine homogene Schubspannungsverteilung im Probekörperquerschnitt vor.
  • Die Fertigung der Kerbung der Probe verursacht infolge einer dadurch variierenden Spannungssituation im Bereich der Kerbe ein Versagen der Probe bei unterschiedlichen Lasten.
  • Im Lasteinleitungsbereich kann die Druckfestigkeit des Werkstoffes überschritten werden, was zu Zerdrücken der Probenkante führt.
Dem steht als großer Vorteil gegenüber, dass das Iosipescu-Verfahren sehr einfach und flexibel ist. Mit nur einer Methode können ein- und mehrachsig orientierte Laminate mit beliebiger Faserorientierung unter geringem Aufwand geprüft werden.

Schubprüfung an gekerbten Flachprobekörpern mittels Rail Shear Versuch nach ASTM D 7078-12

  • Standard-Prüfverfahren zur Bestimmung der Schubeigenschaften von FVK
  • Für Laminate aus thermo- oder duroplastischen Matrixsystemen mit UD-Gelege bzw. -Gewebe
  • Prüfung multidirektionaler Faserorientierungen möglich
  • Faserorientierung: 0° bzw. 90° bzw. 0°/90°
  • Probekörpergeometrie: 76mm x 56mm x 2…10mm
  • Aufdoppler: nicht notwendig
  • Dehnungsmessstreifen: 2 bzw. 4 Stück je Probekörper in +/-45°-Richtung

Der Rail Shear Versuch nach ASTM D 7078 und ASTM D 4255 verwendet einen Probekörper, der beidseitig neben einem schmalen, hohen Prüfbereich zwischen zwei gegenüberliegenden Vorrichtungshälften per Klemmbacken eingespannt wird. Eine Zugkraft, die in entgegenwirkender Richtung auf die beiden Hälften aufgebracht wird, verursacht im Probekörper eine Schubbeanspruchung.Das Verfahren weist neben seinen positiven Eigenschaften einige  Einschränkungen für die Ermittlung der Schubeigenschaften an faserverstärkten Kunststoffen auf:

  • Das Verfahren ist für kleine Material-Verformungen bestimmt. Große Verformungen führen zu Lastumlagerungen in Faserrichtung bei horizontal orientierten Fasern.
  • Der Schubspannungszustand im Probekörper ist nicht vollständig homogen und verläuft parabolisch über der Probenhöhe.
  • Probekörper aus mehrachsig verstärkten Laminaten bzw. unidirektionale Probekörper mit einer Faserorientierung parallel zur Lastrichtung weisen Fasern auf, die nicht eingespannt sind.  Dies führt bei der Bestimmung der Schubfestigkeiten zu unerwünschten Einflüssen.
  • Im Verfahren nach ASTM D 7078 mit gekerbtem Probenkörper ergibt sich ein kritischer und stark von der Fertigung der Probe abhängiger Spannungszustand.
  • Bei Verwendung des Verfahrens nach ASTM D 4255 muss der Probekörper mit mehreren Bohrungen zur Einspannung versehen werden. Dies ist unerwünscht, da Spannungskonzentrationen im Bereich der Bohrungen auftreten.
Allerdings besticht das Verfahren durch seine geringe Komplexität und die Verwendung einfacher, flacher Probekörper.

Schubprüfung an Flachprobekörpern nach DIN EN ISO 14129:1998-02 (“Schub-Zug-Versuch”)

  • Standard-Prüfverfahren zur Bestimmung der Schubeigenschaften von FVK
  • Für Laminate aus thermo- oder duroplastischen Matrixsystemen mit UD-Gelege bzw. -Gewebe
  • Faserorientierung: +/- 45°
  • Probekörpergeometrie: 250mm x 25mm x 2mm
  • Aufdoppler: 50mm x 25mm x 2mm (+/-45°-Faserorientierung)
  • Dehnungsmessstreifen: 2 Stück je Probekörper in 0°/90°-Orientierung

Nach DIN EN ISO 14129 bzw. ASTM D 3518, dem sogenannten „Schub-Zugversuch“, werden Schubkennwerte an Flachproben mit einer ±45°-Orientierung der Fasern durchgeführt. Der Probekörper ist von seinem Laminataufbau symmetrisch und ausgeglichen. Die Kennwertermittlung erfolgt statisch als Zugversuch.Bereits in der Norm wird jedoch schon auf die Schwierigkeiten dieses Verfahrens hingewiesen:

  • “Der Versuch ist [...] nicht unbedenklich auf die Bestimmung der Bruch-Festigkeit für Materialien mit hoher Schubdehnung anwendbar…“ (das Verfahren ist auf Schubverformungen <5% begrenzt)
  • Der resultierende Spannungszustand im Probekörper ist mehrachsig. In der Einzelschicht der Probe liegen sowohl Normalspannungen als auch Schubspannungen vor. Die fasersenkrechten Spannungen erzeugen dabei eine zusätzliche ZFB-Beanspruchung im Laminat und damit eine Beeinflussung der Schubkennwerte. Die Ermittlung der Schubfestigkeit ist daher prinzipbedingt nicht fehlerfrei möglich.
  • Die freien (nicht eingespannten) Ränder des Probekörpers führen zu Lastumlagerungseffekten.
  • Es ist von einer inhomogenen Belastungssituation über die Probenbreite auszugehen.
Allerdings besticht das Verfahren durch die Einfachheit der Versuchsdurchführung. Es handelt sich im Wesentlichen um den etablierten Zugversuch, der durch eine geschickte Faserorientierung für die Messung von Schubkennwerten modifiziert wurde.

Interlaminare Scherfestigkeit (ILSS) im Kurzbiegeverfahren (SBS) nach DIN EN 2563 und 2377, DIN EN ISO 14130 und ASTM D 2344

  • Standard-Prüfverfahren zur Bestimmung der interlaminaren Scherfestigkeit von FKV
  • Für Laminate aus thermo- oder duroplastischen Matrixsystemen mit UD-Gelege bzw. -Gewebe
  • Probekörpergeometrie: 20mm x 10mm x 2mm
  • Radius Druckfinne: 5mm
  • Radius Auflager: 2mm
  • Messbarer Temperaturbereich: 20…280°C

Dynamische Werkstoffprüfung

Das Ermüdungsverhalten faserverstärkter Werkstoffe (FVW) ist für die Lebensdauervorhersagen von Bauteilen und Strukturen von großer Bedeutung. Das Verhalten von FVW unter dynamischer Belastung unterscheidet sich dabei stark vom Verhalten isotroper Materialien wie beispielsweise metallischer Werkstoffe. Bei FVW erfolgt die Ermüdung im Wesentlichen durch die Entstehung, das Wachstum und die Ausbreitung einer Vielzahl von Einzelrissen. Die Schädigungsentwicklung ist stark vom Aufbau des Laminats, von der Matrix und von den verwendeten Fasern abhängig. Der Schädigungsablauf ist daher sehr materialspezifisch, erfolgt aber typischerweise in folgenden Phasen:

  • Entstehung von Querrissen in Laminatschichten außerhalb der Belastungsrichtung
  • Entstehung von Längsrissen entlang lasttragender Fasern
  • Delaminationen entlang von Probenkanten
  • Delaminationen im Probeninneren aufgrund von Quer- und Längsrissen
  • Bruch lasttragender Fasern aufgrund des Ausknickens von Fasern
  • Faser-Matrix-Ablösungen aufgrund von Schubbeanspruchungen
  • Komplettes Versagen der Probe / des Bauteils

Wir testen FVW mit unserer Zugvorrichtung unter Zug-Druck- (R=-1), Zug-Schwell- (R=0) oder Druck-Schwell-Beanspruchung (R=-∞). Dabei wird über die Faserausrichtung die Belastungsart definiert: Faserlängs- oder Faserquerorientierung führt zu Zug- bzw. Druckbelastung, eine +/-45°-Orientierung führt zu Schub. Zur Vermeidung vorzeitigen Faserausknickens kann eine Knickstütze GZ-BS32 verwendet werden.

Mit unserer 3-/4-Punkt Wechselbiegevorrichtung charakterisieren wir die dynamischen Biegeeigenschaften von FVW, wobei auch hier über die Faserausrichtung zusätzlich Aussagen zu den Zug- und Druckeigenschaften der Materialien gewonnen werden können.

Das Ermüdungsverhalten wird dabei an Werkstoffen Ihrer Wahl wie beispielsweise mit GFK und CFK endlosfaser- oder langfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe mit duro- oder thermoplastischer Matrix untersucht. Wir führen Betriebsfestigkeitsuntersuchungen durch und erstellen Wöhlerlinien von Ihrer Materialkonfiguration.

Trennmittelprüfung

Bei der Herstellung von faserverstärkten Kunststoffen spielt die Entformbarkeit aus der Kavität eine entscheidende Rolle. Dazu werden die Werkzeuginnenseiten sorgfältig mit Trennmitteln präpariert. In der automatisierten Fertigung ist diese Vorgehensweise jedoch unbrauchbar. Hier kommen integrierte Trennmittel zum Einsatz, die in das Thermoplast compoundiert bzw. dem Duroplastsystem hinzugefügt wurden. Für die Bestimmung der Resthaftkraft dieser Trennmittel haben wir das Prüfsystem GZ RA-20entwickelt.

Zwischen zwei heizbaren planparallelen Flächen aus Werkzeugstahl wird das zu prüfende Trennmittel-Kunststoffgemisch aufgebracht. Temperatureinstellung und Verweildauer richten sich nach Ihren Prozessdaten bzw. können im Rahmen einer Testserie gefunden werden. Anschließend fahren die Flächen mit definierter Geschwindigkeit auseinander, wobei die durch das Polymer erzeugte Adhäsionskraft gemessen wird.